When you face a drug charge in Hennepin County, Minnesota, you may feel fearful about potentially having to serve time, among other possible penalties you may face. Depending on the details of your arrest, among other variables, you may be able to avoid jail time after a drug offense by instead gaining entry into Hennepin County Drug Court.
Per the Judiciary Courts of the State of Minnesota, drug court requires a commitment of at least 12 months. Participation in this voluntary program may be possible after you enter a guilty plea in response to your drug charge.
Drug court requirements
Should you gain entry into drug court in Hennepin County, expect to have to meet strict compliance requirements throughout the program’s duration. Plan on having to make regular appearances before a judge and probation officer. Plan, too, to have to submit urine samples at random intervals while drug court is ongoing. You also must abstain from crime while in the program and take any medications program administrators may require.
Drug court eligibility
To potentially gain entry in Hennepin County Drug Court, you must be a county resident and at least 18 years of age. The drug offense to which you plead guilty must not be a violent one, and you also need to have a chemical dependency you want to overcome. You also have to be at high risk of reoffending, should you not gain inclusion in the program.
Failing to meet any of the compliance requirements outlined above may result in your termination or removal from the drug court program.