Even if it is your first time facing such a charge, a conviction for driving under the influence or driving while intoxicated in Minnesota brings with it serious penalties. You may have to spend up to 90 days behind bars, or up to a year, depending on your blood alcohol content. You may also have to pay up to $3,000 in fines, depending on the circumstances surrounding your arrest. Another major financial consequence of a DUI is an increase in your insurance rates.
According to NerdWallet, Minnesota drivers who have one DUI on their driving histories pay an average of $1,057 more a year for full auto insurance coverage than similar motorists without DUIs.
Anticipate a sharp increase
Estimates suggest that the typical Minnesota driver pays about $1,280 each year to his or her auto insurance provider in exchange for coverage. If you were a safe driver before your DUI, you likely paid close to this amount before your arrest. However, once you have that DUI in your driving history, you should expect to pay closer to $2,337 a year for car insurance.
Secure multiple quotes
Not all car insurance providers base their premiums on the same factors. In some cases, rates vary broadly and some insurers may be able to offer you better premiums than others when you have a DUI. It is important to note, though, that the provider who offers you the best deal while your record is clean may not be the one to do so once you have a drunk driving conviction.