The Legal Power Of Bauer

What are the penalties for marijuana possession in Minnesota?

On Behalf of | Feb 27, 2020 | Criminal Defense |

Minnesota is one of the many states to have decriminalized the possession of small amounts of marijuana. There are, however, still limits to how much you can possess at any given time. Being aware of the rules of possession and the potential penalties can help you to avoid unwanted criminal charges. 

The most important thing for you to know is that in this instance, decriminalization does not mean that you will necessarily be free of any kind of criminal record if you are caught with marijuana. The National Organization for the Reform of Marijuana Laws states that while first-time offenders may receive a conditional discharge, you can still be charged with a misdemeanor for having 42.5 grams or less on you. For this charge, you could be fined up to $200 and be sentenced to complete a drug education course. 

The penalties get much more intense as the amount of marijuana you have goes up. Once you pass the threshold of 42.5 grams, which is just over one-and-a-half ounces, you can be charged with a felony. This is punishable with a fine of up to $10,000 and up to five years of jail time. 

The penalties increase in severity the higher the weight becomes. At the maximum, possession of 100 or more kilograms of marijuana can land you up to a $1 million fine and up to 30 years in prison. 

Regardless of what you get charged with, there can be an additional charge if you are caught with marijuana in your vehicle. If you have more than 1.4 grams in the passenger area, you can be charged with a misdemeanor and face up to $1,000 in fines and up to 90 days in jail. 

FindLaw Network