Motorists in Minnesota can receive a charge of driving while intoxicated if law enforcement pulls them over and detects blood alcohol content of more than 0.08%. A conviction will result in both criminal and administrative penalties.
Before facing a state DWI charge in court, learn more about the potential consequences for this offense.
If you have no prior DWI history, an initial conviction carries penalties of a 90-day driver’s license suspension, which the court will reduce to 30 days with a guilty plea. This charge also carries up to 90 days in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. Drivers who have measured BAC over 0.16%, refuse a breath test and/or have a minor child in the car at the time of the offense will receive a one-year license suspension, up to a year in jail and a fine of up to $3,000.
A second DWI offense carries enhanced penalties. Drivers who receive a conviction are subject to a one-year license suspension, up to a year in jail and a fine of up to $3,000. Those with extenuating circumstances as described above have their license plates impounded and must forfeit their vehicle during the suspension period.
Third and subsequent offenses
With a third offense, in addition to up to a year in jail and fines of up to $3,000, you will receive an indefinite license suspension. You must forfeit your license plate and have your vehicle impounded. Those who enroll in drug and alcohol treatment may receive full license privileges after using an ignition interlock device successfully for three years.
A fourth DWI in Minnesota becomes a felony offense rather than a gross misdemeanor. This crime carries fines of up to $14,000, up to seven years in jail and an indefinite license suspension.
To get your license reinstated, you must pay a $680 fee. The BAC threshold for commercial drivers is 0.04%.