Driving while intoxicated (DWI) in the state of Minnesota brings both short- and long-term consequences.
If you are a driver younger than 21 arrested for DWI, you face penalties, a stain on your record and the loss of your license followed by the task of reinstating your suspended driving privileges.
The criminal penalties a driver faces for a first-time DWI charge vary according to blood alcohol content (BAC) level. For example, if your BAC as an underage driver is less than 0.08%, the court can charge you with a misdemeanor accompanied by up to 90 days behind bars and/or a fine of up to $700
For a first-offense DWI conviction, you face administrative penalties regardless of the criminal penalties the court imposes. Your driving privileges can undergo suspension in one of two ways: no driving privileges for 15 days and a limited license for the remaining 75 days, or full driving privileges for 90 days if you have an ignition interlock device (IID) installed in your vehicle.
License reinstatement and more
No doubt your driving privileges are important to you. You may need your car to get to and from classes, your job and much more. However, driver’s license reinstatement in Minnesota includes paying a $680 fee, passing a test about DWI and completing a chemical health assessment program. An underage drinking and driving offense can remain on your record for 15 years or longer and adversely affect your future plans, such as securing a new job or renting an apartment. If charged with DWI, your best next step is to seek legal guidance. You want the best outcome possible for your case.