Minnesota motorists can receive license suspensions for driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol (DUI). The length of the suspension depends on prior offenses, blood alcohol content and other factors.
Review the facts about DUI license suspension in Minnesota before facing this type of court date.
A person who receives a DUI with no prior DUI convictions and a BAC of less than 0.16% at the time of arrest can receive a license suspension for 90 days. He or she can forgo the suspension with the use of an ignition interlock device for the 90-day period. This device prevents the vehicle’s engine from starting without an alcohol-free breath sample.
Another option is a 15-day suspension followed by a 75-day restricted license period. With this type of license, the person may travel only to school, work and medical treatment for drug or alcohol addiction.
For a second DUI offense, the person could receive a one-year license suspension with IID. The suspension period extends to two years for an individual with a BAC of 0.16% or higher at the time of the arrest.
A third-time or subsequent DUI carries an indefinite license suspension. The person must enroll in and complete substance use treatment to qualify for a restricted license with an IID. He or she can regain full driving privileges after three years with no further DUI offenses.
In addition to these penalties, Minnesota drivers can receive a one-year license suspension for refusing a breath test at the scene of the DUI arrest.