Anyone facing a conviction for a sexual offense in Minnesota may wonder about sex offender registration. Being on this register can alter a person’s life as many criminal convictions require a lifelong registration and registration comes with many restrictions.
According to the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, in this state, the sexual offender registry is not only for people with sex crime convictions, and it is known as the Predatory Offender Registration. The minimum time a person will remain on the registry is ten years.
Reasons to go on the list
The Minnesota Statutes explain that a person will have to register if he or she has a conviction for specific felony charges. These charges include not only committing the actual crime but also conspiring to commit a crime, aiding in, abetting or attempting to commit a crime on the list.
If a person comes to the state from another state, he or she may also have to register in Minnesota. Anyone who is here for 14 days in a row or more than 30 days in a year must register if he or she has a criminal record that includes a charge for which he or she would have to register if the conviction was in the state. The only exceptions are if it has been ten years or more since the conviction.
Sexual crimes are the most common offenses for which someone will have to register. These include criminal sexual conduct, indecent exposure, solicitation of a minor, prostitution, sex trafficking a minor, use of a minor in a sexual performance and possession of pornography containing minors. It also includes anyone the court gives a received patterned sex offender sentence.
Other crimes may not be specifically sexual in nature, but could also fall under sex crimes, including surreptitious intrusion, false imprisonment, criminal abuse and kidnapping. In addition, a person who commits murder also must register.