In Minnesota, it is common for college students to experiment with alcohol and drugs. College students are still young, it is their first time away from home and often they may end up exploring drugs as a way to have a good time or to rebel against the rules set down on them as minors. Drug-related felonies are serious and many students worry about their future in school, not to mention their future in the job market. A drug charge does not have to ruin your life, however. The laws are complex and students always have room to fight them.
According to the Minnesota State Legislature, controlled substance crimes and penalties have five gradations from first degree to fifth degree. The penalties for each category are in order and as follows:
- A four-year minimum sentence if previously convicted of a drug felony; imprisonment from 86 to 158 months along with up to a $1,000,000 fine; up to 30 years in prison
- A three-year minimum with a previous drug felony; imprisonment from 48 to 108 months and up to a $500,000 fine; up to 25 years in prison
- A fine up to $250,000; up to 20 years in prison
- A fine up to $100,000; up to 15 years in prison
- A fine up to $10,000; up to 5 years in prison
The laws that surround drug charges are not always simple. Misdemeanors have limited sentences and consequences. Unfortunately, regarding drug crimes, the penalties and the charges increase in severity. This makes the stakes high when fighting a drug charge.
This is not legal advice and instead has an educational purpose.